Closest Center:

  (847) 485-0000
Find a Center



Educational News

Time Person of the Year

Jan-18, 2017

Time Person of the Year - 2017

Today, let’s learn about the honor known as Time Magazine’s Person of the Year. Person of the Year was called as Man of the Year until the year 1999.It is a yearly subject of the US-based news publication Time which features and projects a person, a group,an idea, or an object so as tofor better or for worse; has done the most to influence the proceedings of the year."


Originally called "Man of the Year," Time Magazine have been awarding the yearly prize since 1927, with Time’s editors choosing the biggest newsmaker of a given year. The idea began as a way to make up for a previous editing decision, since the year before, there was no cover story featuring aviator Charles Lindbergh or his historic trans-Atlantic flight. So, by creating the title, they could honor Lindbergh and correct their mistake.

Process of Selection

In spite of the name, the title is not just limited to individuals. Winner of the title have included married couples, ideological opponents, classes of individuals, even the computer ("Machine of the Year" in 1982), and "Endangered Earth" ("Planet of the Year" in 1988) have also been selected under the special year-end issue.

U.S. Presidents

Since the beginning of the list, every serving President of the United States has been nominated as a Person of the Year and won the title at least once with the exceptions of Calvin Coolidge. Most of them were named Person of the Year either the year they were voted into office or while serving their term.

However, the only one to be given the title prior to being elected was Dwight D. Eisenhower, in the year 1944 when he held the title of Supreme Commander of the Allied Invasion Force, eight years before his election to the Presidency. Eisenhower subsequently received the title again in 1959 while he was in the office. Franklin D. Roosevelt is the only person to have received the title three times, first as president elect in 1932 and later as the incumbent president for the years 1934 and 1941.

From Man to Person

In 1999, Time wisely changed the title of their honor to Person of the Year. Women who have been chosen for identification after the renaming include "The Whistleblowers" - Cynthia Cooper, Sherron Watkins and Coleen Rowley in the year 2002, Melinda Gates along with Bill Gates and Bono were jointly selected in 2005, and Angela Merkel in 2015. Earlier to 1999, four women were selected for the title as individuals: three as "Woman of the Year" amongst them were Wallis Simpson (1936), Queen Elizabeth II (1952) and Corazon Aquino (1986) and one as half of the "Man and Wife of the Year," Soong Mei-ling (1937). “The American Women" were acknowledged as a group in 1975. Other groups of people chosen for the honor comprised both men and women, such as "Hungarian Freedom Fighters" in 1956, "U.S. Scientists" 1960, "The Middle Americans" in the year 1969, "The Inheritors" in 1966, "The American Soldier” in 2003, "You" in 2006, “The Protester” in 2011 (which used a woman on its cover), and "Ebola Fighters" in 2014.

What do you think it means to be The Person of the Year? Do you aspire to be a newsworthy figure? The best time to start is now!